ocean, chuck russell, strathcona regional district

Strathcona Regional District

Population: 48, 150*

Considered the gateway to northern Vancouver Island, the Strathcona Regional District (SRD) is home to rugged mountainscapes, vast forests and dramatic coastlines. Spanning the breadth of Vancouver Island, its boundaries stretch from Oyster River to Sayward on the Island’s eastern flank and from Gold River and Strathcona Park to Brooks Peninsula on the Island’s remote west coast. In the east. The SRD also includes Cortes Island, Quadra Island and the Discovery Islands, as well as a portion of the BC mainland north of Powell River.

The SRD was formed in 2008 when the Comox Strathcona Regional District was split into the Comox Valley Regional District and the Strathcona Regional District. It is comprised of five municipalities (the City of Campbell River and the villages of Gold River, Sayward, Tahsis and Zeballos) and five electoral areas.

The now obsolete Comox Strathcona Regional District was one of North Island 911’s five original member regional districts when the service was established in 1996; the Strathcona Regional District remained a participant when it was established in 2008.


Visit the Strathcona Regional District’s website

*Census Profile, 2021 Census of Population