Comox Vallery

Comox Valley Regional District

Population: 74,445*

Nestled between the majestic Beaufort Mountains and the shimmering waters of Baynes Sound, including Denman and Hornby islands, the Comox Valley Regional District (CVRD) serves an area of more than 1,725 square kilometres stretching from Cook Creek in the south to the Oyster River in the north.

The CVRD was formed in 2008 when the Comox Strathcona Regional District was split into the Comox Valley Regional District and the Strathcona Regional District. It is comprised of three member municipalities (the City of Courtenay, the Town of Comox and the Village of Cumberland) and three electoral areas.

The now obsolete Comox Strathcona Regional District was one of North Island 911’s five original member regional districts when the service was established in 1996; the restructured CVRD remained a participant when it was established in 2008.

Visit the Comox Valley Regional District’s website

Census Profile, 2021 Census of Population 

*2016 estimate; BC Stats: Jan. 24, 2017